Archaeological Museum

Archaeological Museum

Archaeological Museum

Sri Lanka

The Archaeological Department of the Government of Sri Lanka has established Archaeological Site museums in the following cities:

  • Anuradhapura
  • Isurumuniya
  • Mihintale
  • Veheragala
  • Vavuniya
  • Jaffna
  • Sigiriya
  • Kandy
  • Dedigama
  • Yapahuwa
  • Panduwasnuwara
  • Kotte
  • Matara (star-fort)
  • Deegavapiya
  • Kataragama


  • Visitors are permitted at all these sites.
  • Visitors desirous of visiting the Archaeological sites under the Cultural Triangle’s Archaeological Programme should obtain the requisite entry passes and permits from the Ministry Of Cultural Affairs, 255 Bauddhaloka Mawatha, Colombo 7. (Phone – 00 94 1 508594). The permits granted include admission to and permission to photograph all Cultural Triangle’s archaeological sites and monuments.
  • Visitors can also contact the office of the Central Cultural Fund, 212 Bauddhaloka Mawatha, Colombo 7. (Phone – 00 94 1 500732 and 00 94 1 587912)
  • For photography, clearance has to be obtained from Director General of Department of Archaeology whose office is located at Sir Marcus Fernando Mawatha, Colombo 7. Permits are required to photograph monuments at selected sites.
  • Visiting Hours for the Archaeological Museums: 8.00 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily except for Tuesdays and Public Holidays